This article is for administrators.
Locking a candidate record prevents all other users, except administrators, from viewing the candidate's record. This include comments, offer details, Metadata, and attachments.
Notes:
- User who are not administrators can see the locked candidate’s contact information. They can also search for the resume and application.
- You cannot assign a locked candidates to other jobs.
- Administrators can still view the locked candidate's full record.
Pro Tip: After you hire someone, it is a good idea to lock their candidate record in Recruiting. If the person becomes an admin or staffing user, we strongly recommend deleting their candidate record.
Lock a candidate record
- Go to People > Hiring > Applicant Tracking to open the Recruiting platform.
- Open the candidate’s record that needs to be locked.
-
Select the Info icon to open the Candidate Info screen.
- Select Lock Record.
-
In the pop-up window, select Yes, Lock it Down to confirm.
-
A banner appears on the candidate's profile confirming the record has been locked.
Updated: August 18th, 2026 6240 views 0 likes
*This content is for educational purposes only, is not intended to provide specific legal advice, and should not be used as a substitute for the legal advice of a qualified attorney or other professional. The information may not reflect the most current legal developments, may be changed without notice and is not guaranteed to be complete, correct, or up-to-date.