This Article Solved My Issue

Inactivate or lock a user in Recruiting

Describes how to inactivate a user's ATS access when they leave your company.

Table of Contents

This article is for administrators or staffing users with the appropriate permissions.

Important:

  • You must be an Administrator or Staffing user to inactivate users.
  • Staffing Users cannot inactivate an Administrator, but they can inactivate another Staffing User. 
  • You cannot inactivate a user who is the only hiring manager assigned to a job.  Assign another user as the hiring manager first, then inactivate the former hiring manager. 
 

Inactivating a user prevents them from accessing the system and removes them from all jobs. 

  1. Go to People > Hiring > Applicant Tracking to open the Recruiting platform.  
  2. Select Admin, and then select Users.  
     
  3. Select the user’s name. 
  4. In the User Status and Login section, update the following fields: 
  • Select the Locked checkbox in the Login field. 
  • Select the Inactive checkbox in the Status field. 
  1. Select Save

 After you complete these steps, the system removes the user from all jobs and prevents them from accessing Recruiting. 

Troubleshooting 

  • Cannot inactivate a user: Staffing users cannot inactivate an administrator. 
  • User cannot be inactivated: The user is the only hiring manager on a job. Assign another hiring manager and then repeat the steps.  
  • Changes do not apply: Verify you selected Save after updating the fields.   

 

Updated: August 18th, 2026 6576 views


*This content is for educational purposes only, is not intended to provide specific legal advice, and should not be used as a substitute for the legal advice of a qualified attorney or other professional. The information may not reflect the most current legal developments, may be changed without notice and is not guaranteed to be complete, correct, or up-to-date.

Give feedback about this article
Give feedback about this article
Our articles update frequently. Please be aware of this before printing.
Back to Top ↑